4-H Agricultural Science Series – Veterinary Science

DSC_0158

By: Bunmi Osias

Since third grade, I knew that I wanted to work with animals when I grew up. For years, I tried to convince my parents to let me get a pet but they refused so I had to find another way to get experience working with animals. This year I found out about the veterinary science workshop. At the workshop, I learned a tremendous amount. Mr. Dwayne Murphy started by talking about animal management which involves the feeding, housing and handling of animals. After this, we watched an informative video about animal husbandry during pregnancy and how it is a big factor in the well-being of both mother and offspring. While talking about husbandry, we also discussed signs of well-being in animals like respiration, heart rate and how active they are. The signs of help can also help you figure out if your animal is sick and how to treat it.

When you need to treat your sick animal, the first person you should contact is your veterinarian who can give your animal several different types of medicines and discussed the withdrawal time. Withdraw time is the amount of time your animal has to wait before being milked or slaughtered so that nobody ingests the medicine. After discussing the medicine and how it is administered, we looked at the label on medicine to see if we could find the withdrawal time, how the medicine is administered and what animal the medicine is for. After this, we went through a delicious exercise to help us practice our ability to administer medication subdurally, right below the skin, or intramuscularly, on an orange. In order to practice administering medicine subdurally, we inserted water dyed with food coloring into the syringe and then we took an orange, tilted the needle at an angle, pushed in the needle and pushed out the water. If you did this correctly you would see a spot that looked bluish in color underneath the peel of the orange. In order to practice giving medicine intramuscularly, we either poked the needle into the middle of the orange or poked a pudding filled syringe into a munchkin. After the break we researched infectious diseases for animals, and people depending on the disease, and did presentations on them. After that, our session was over. I left feeling very happy and excited that I learned so much and I am on my way to becoming a veterinarian.


DSC_0141 cropped

ANIMAL HEALTH

By: Georgina Casciani

Hi my name is Georgina Cascani and I went to a 4-h workshop about giving animals proper care. I learned how to respect animals and how they should be treated. I also learned how to give animals certain shots and I practiced by putting food coloring into an orange. I also practiced by putting pudding into a doughnut and then eating it — it was good! We also researched diseases that an animal can get. We learned how to fix the animal when they had the disease. I really enjoyed learning how to take care of animals the correct way.

DSC_0161 blurred DSC_0164 DSC_0132 DSC_0157

About umebaltimorecountyfourh

University of Maryland Extension, Baltimore County 4-H serves youth from ages 5-18 in Baltimore County MD through hands-on activities and learning experiences. http://extension.umd.edu/baltimore-county/4-h-youth
This entry was posted in Robotics, Animal Science, Agriculture, Food and Nutrition, Community Service, Leadership, Life Skills. Bookmark the permalink.